Friday, June 8, 2012

Bradenton gets 3-person race for mayor; Groover Bryant unopposed in Palmetto

From the Bradenton Herald's Miriam Valverde:

Three candidates have qualified for the Bradenton mayoral race.

Incumbent Wayne Poston, in office since January 2000, is being challenged by Ward 2 Councilwoman Marianne Barnebey and Richard O’Brien, chairman of the Manatee County Democratic Party.

Travis W. Holliday, who had announced his bid for Bradenton mayor, did not qualify for the race, according to the Supervisor of Elections office. Nancy Bignell, assistant supervisor of elections, said Holliday did not submit any required documentation.

Bradenton’s Ward 2 seat is being contested by Gene Brown, George E. Mendez, and Binnie N. Williams. The position became vacant following Barnebey’s bid for mayor. She is expected to resign from office in January before newly elected officials are inaugurated, regardless of the mayoral race outcome.

Ward 5 incumbent Harold E. Byrd, Jr. and Ward 1 incumbent Gene Gallo are running unopposed.

Palmetto's Mayor Shirley Groover Bryant was the only listed candidate running for the position.

Palmetto's Ward 1 Commissioner Charles Smith is being challenged by Carolyn L. Higdon.

Commissioner-at-large Tamara Cornwell is running unopposed.

Alan Zirkelbach, Palmetto's other commissioner-at-large. is not running for re-election.  Jonathan L. Davis and Eric F. Gilbert are running for the seat.

1 comment: